I highly recommend growing celery in raised beds, so you don’t have to get down on all fours to inspect your celery. I did that today. I went out to harvest some spears for juicing, and ran across a cabbage worm. I ran in for my camera and had to return a phone call and when I got back, couldn’t find it for a few minutes. Searching on hands and elbows, I found this.

Cabbage Worm Cocoon©KayeKittrell 2012

Cabbage Worm Cocoon on Celery Leaf

Let’s just say this cabbage worm will not reach the moth stage. Next, I found this cocoon.

Butterfly Cocoon

Damaged Monarch Chrysalis Hanging from Celery Leaf

It looked a lot like the shape of the Monarch cocoon, but, it was whitish green, so I wasn’t sure what it was. I cut the spear and propped it against the fence, and went in to the computer to look for cocoon images. When I got back out there, it was smashed. I’m not sure how it happened. If it was a Monarch, I’m sorry, but I will have more. And can’t Monarch butterflies communicate to their eggs not to attach their cocoon to edible plants that might be harvested? It took some searching, but, I found the cabbage worm, exactly the same color as the celery stem.

Cabbage Looper on Celery Stem

Cabbage Looper on Celery Stem

I removed all the celery leaves from around the six plants and had enough for a small batch of green vegetable juice.

Fresh Picked Celery Leaves

Fresh Picked Celery Leaves

Next, I juiced them along with organic zucchini and carrots (from the market) and my own parsley.

Celery Leaves Going into Juicer

Celery Leaves Going into Juicer

However much juice I make, the proportions are always about 50% celery, 25% zucchini, 15% carrot, and 10% parsley. I blend in a tablespoon of raw (unheated) honey per quart, to make it drinkable, ha!

Green Vegetable Juice by Kaye Kittrell 2012

Green Vegetable Juice

And down that one went. If I could only get my carrots, zucchini, celery and parsley to grow all year, all at the same time, I’d be in business! Thanks for stopping by. Watch for the next episode of “Late Bloomer” tomorrow, “Kaye’s Tomato Story!” – Kaye