I got so hungry reading blogs today, and I’ve had so many salads of late, I decided to make myself a bowl of beans and rice for lunch.

Okay, I was feeling the need for protein yesterday, so I soaked the beans overnight. These are Organic Anasazi “Heirloom Quality” Beans, which are sweet and promise to to be less “gas forming” than other beans. 🙂 You can get them from Gold Mine Natural Food Co. I strained the soaked beans and put in fresh water, some chopped chive (because I had no onion) brought to a boil, then simmered for a half hour, then added a half cup of Ohsawa 100% Organic Brown Rice, “Golden Rose” California Grown with a chopped Purple Cherokee tomato. I cooked on low for a half hour and added chopped fresh sage and thyme, a pinch of salt and shavings of fresh red pepper, and simmered for five minutes and turned it off. I served with a tablespoon of Living Tree Raw Organic California Olive Oil drizzled over and another chopped fresh tomato and grated Parmesan cheese. Yumm!