I spotted this impossibly long-legged, mosquito-like insect on my cherry tomato plant today, and since I’m keen to attract beneficial insects to my garden, grabbed a photo and went to the internet.

I learned it is a crane fly and found this very knowledgable blog post, http://thelifeofyourtime.wordpress.com/2010/09/21/random-insect-crane-fly-taking-a-break/. I think I can spot the ovipositor, so I’m assuming it’s a female just taking a break. I thought maybe it was lying in wait, as it stayed in the same spot for awhile, but, according to this The Life of Your Time blog post, it’s taking a break from mating or laying eggs or dying. All the foraging happens in the grub stage. Luckily, I don’t have a lawn, as turf is their favorite food source. Gardening is an adventure. Thanks for reading! – Kaye