For the first-time urban gardener, like me, harvesting my first dozen zucchini is a glorious thing! So, for the one month anniversary of Earth Day and the premiere of “Late Bloomer,” I present my zucchini.

I handed a green one, plus two long stems of oregano, to a passing neighbor. We ate the big yellow one,…

…cut and slightly steamed, over kamut spiral pasta and sauce, along with a handful of tender green and yellow beans.

And I rounded up berries. This totals 12 berries so far that I’ve picked, only one dud, as I’m carefully keeping the berries off the ground with wood bark.

When you are gardening in a small front yard, each berry is a victory! Here’s my first handful of raspberries. Because the plant looks just like a blackberry nearby, I was waiting for these berries to get black, before picking, but, out on slug patrol last night, I realized they really were raspberries and I’d better pull them off before they were too ripe. One was a little too far gone.

Isn’t it amazing how it cleanly slips off it’s stem? I always wondered how they did that in processing, haha! It’s Mother Nature at work. Thanks for joining me on my first month of discovery in “Late Bloomer!” Look for Episode 8, “Purple Cabbage Saga” (and what a saga it was/is!) of “Late Bloomer” later today. – Kaye